KENTUCKY BOARD OF VETERINARY EXAMINERS
107 Corporate Drive, Second Floor, Frankfort, KY 40601
Office: 502-782-0273 o Fax: 502-695-5887
kybve.com e vet@ky.cov

KBVE POLICY No. 2201 — Provisional Licensure
for Applicants with Limited Outstanding Application Materials
Adopted March 24, 2022

Governing Statutes: KRS 321.190 - License required to practice veterinary medicine
KRS 321.193 — Veterinarian’s license — Requirements
KRS 321.235 — Powers and duties of board — Personal immunity

IKRS 321.441 — Veterinary technician's license -- Qualifications -- Scope of
practice -- Annual fee -- Exception

Governing Regulations: 201 KAR 16:500 — Code of Ethical Conduct for veterinarians

201 KAR 16:540 — Application requirements for veterinarians and veterinary

technicians

WHEREAS, the Kentucky Board of Veterinary Examiners (KBVE) is empowered by the General Assembly
to issue veterinarian and veterinary technician licenses to qualified candidates;

WHEREAS, the KBVE is aware of increasing shortages of veterinarian services in the Commonwealth of
Kentucky; and

WHEREAS, the KBVE’s mission includes protecting the citizens and animals of the Commonwealth;

IT IS HEREBY ADOPTED BY KBVE Policy No. 2201 in an effort to ensure veterinarian and veterinary
technician applicants can begin work in the Commonwealth in a timely manner.

If the following conditions are met,

1) A veterinarian or veterinary technician applicant for licensure with a current application on file with
the KBVE;

2) The application is complete with the exception of one or more of the following required application
materials:

a. Official, final school transcripts or copy of diploma; and / or
b. Current results from a personal FBI background check; and

3) The applicant or applicant’s school has submitted a written request to the board for provisional
licensure;

then the KBVE may issue a provisional license to an applicant pending missing application materials. If
the outstanding materials are not submitted to the board within 90-days, the license shall expire
automatically, and the board shall pursue entering into a Settlement Agreement for disciplinary action with
the licensee, including a fine in the amount of $500 per deﬁciency.
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